# MINUTES OF THE 137<sup>TH</sup> ANNUAL MEETING OF THE CONGREGATION THE FOURTH PRESBYTERIAN CHURCH OF CHICAGO FEBRUARY 11, 2007

The Meeting of the Congregation of the Fourth Presbyterian Church was convened by the Moderator, Dr. John M. Buchanan, at 12:15 p.m. on Sunday, February 11, 2007 in the sanctuary of the Fourth Presbyterian Church. The Reverend Thomas Rook opened the meeting with prayer.

## **Report of the Clerk of Session**

Martin Sherrod, Clerk of Session, determined that a quorum was present.

Mr. Sherrod announced that the minutes of the 136<sup>th</sup> Annual Meeting of the Congregation, held on February 12, 2006, were available for review in several locations throughout the church and in the church office. A motion was made, seconded and **adopted** to approve the minutes of the 136th Annual Congregational Meeting of Fourth Presbyterian Church of Chicago.

Mr. Sherrod expressed his gratitude to John and Sue Buchanan, to Dana Ferguson and the staff for the important roles they play in the life of Fourth Presbyterian Church.

The moderator called on Elder Beth Davis, Chair of the Nominating Committee, to present the committee's report.

#### Nominating Committee Report

Ms. Davis summarized the committee's process and introduced and thanked committee members for their service: Phil Calian, Bob Day, Jan Feldman, Lisa Garay, Arthur Martin, Ken Nicholson, Polly Peters-Bottrell, Mary Schaafsma, Dennis Thorn, Mary Kay Wysham and staff, Tom Rook.

Ms. Davis presented the following candidates for election as Elders:

<u>Class of 2010</u>	
C. Andrew Brickman	Kathleen Rodak
Frederick Chisolm	John Shorney
Linda Crane	Robert Sinclair
Allison Crawford	Evadney Stephens
Elizabeth Kurman	Leonard Tomaka
Douglas Pond	Kimberly Yaung

<u>Class of 2008</u> Allison Cochrane (youth)

The Moderator asked for nominations from the floor. There being none, a motion was made, seconded and **adopted** to elect the candidates as Elders.

Ms. Davis presented the slate of candidates for election to the Board of Deacons:

<u>Class of 2010</u> Daniel Alvarez Nicholette Andrews Agnes Boateng

William Fisher Roberta Hayes Joseph Jeffrey Gene Christopher Jones Margaret Lewis Rebecca Ann Nilsson Beverly Pace Joleen Preuninger

<u>Class of 2008</u> Gabrielle Boateng (youth) Kristi Walker Roger D. Wilson Nora Wiltse Sue Zalewski

David Smith

Terrance Stephens (youth)

The Moderator asked for nominations from the floor. There being none, a motion was made, seconded and **approved** to elect the candidates to the Board of Deacons.

Ms. Davis presented the following candidates to represent the congregation as members-at-large of the <u>2007 Nominating Committee</u>:

Alison Chisolm	Kerry Grady
Louis DiCerbo	Mark Nelson
Megham Freytag	Karen Otto
Carol Gates	

The Moderator asked for nominations from the floor. There being none, a motion was made, seconded and **approved** to elect the members-at-large of the 2007 Nominating Committee.

Mr. Buchanan welcomed all candidates elected to their offices for the coming term.

Ms. Davis recognized the following members whose nomination to the Chicago Lights Board of Directors will be presented to the Session for election:

Mark Beckman	Francia Harrington
Dianne Bowman	Nancy Unglaub
Delia Coleman	

#### **Recognition of the Chicago Lights Board**

Mr. Buchanan called on Beth Truett, Executive Director of Chicago Lights, who recognized the efforts of outgoing Board members Ron Holben, Linda Valentine, Jean Bitter, Gunn Lavoll, Mark and Sandra Nelson, and Jennifer Tretheway.

Mr. Buchanan asked for a motion to recess the Meeting of the Congregation to convene a meeting of the Corporation. A motion was made, seconded, and **approved.** 

#### **Meeting of the Corporation**

Andrew McGaan, President of the Board of Trustees and the Corporation, convened the meeting of the Corporation. A motion to approve the minutes of the annual meeting of the corporation held on February 12, 2006 was made, seconded, and **approved.** Church Treasurer Marilee Hopkins reviewed the 2006 financial report and 2007 budget. Mr. McGaan thanked Ms. Hopkins for her ongoing oversight of church finances.

Elder Beth Davis was invited to report on behalf of the Nominating Committee and placed in nomination the following persons for the <u>Board of Trustees</u>.

<u>Class of 2010</u> Clyde Bowles Elizabeth Foster Thomas R. Howell Sandra Nelson

Jeanne Olofson Richard Sabol Joseph Sifferlen

Mr. McGaan asked for nominations from the floor. There being none, a motion to close the nominations and elect the present slate was made, seconded, and **adopted**.

Mr. McGaan asked for a motion to adjourn the meeting of the Corporation and reconvene the meeting of the Congregation. A motion was made, seconded, and **adopted.** The meeting of the Corporation was adjourned.

Moderator John Buchanan reconvened the meeting of the Congregation of Fourth Presbyterian Church, and called on Elder David Crawford for a report on Project Light.

#### **Report on Project Light**

Mr. Crawford summarized the work of the Project Light Leadership Team and thanked the members and Donald Allerton, Interim Director of Project Light, for their involvement during the past year. A financial report will be available in the spring.

### **Report on the Personnel Committee**

Elder Marc Miller, Chair of the Personnel Committee, noted staff transitions and recognized the work of committee members. Mr. Miller expressed particular thanks to John Buchanan and Dana Ferguson for their leadership and to the House Staff for the many ways they contribute to the ongoing life of the church.

#### Pastor's Report

Moderator Buchanan highlighted elements of the 2006 Annual Report and thanked the staff, officers and members of the congregation of the Fourth Presbyterian Church of Chicago for their consistent and important work in making the church an open, active, and welcoming place.

The Moderator asked for any comments, questions, unfinished or new business. There being none, a motion was made, seconded and **adopted** to adjourn the meeting, which was closed with the singing of "Startle Us, God" and with prayer led by The Rev. Dana Ferguson."

Respectfully submitted,

Jartin Shenor

Martin Sherrod, Clerk of Session

An Buchauan

John Buchanan, Moderator