Minutes of the Annual Meeting of the Congregation The Fourth Presbyterian Church of Chicago February 8, 2015

The 145th Annual Meeting of the Congregation of the Fourth Presbyterian Church was convened by the Moderator, the Rev. Shannon Kershner, at 12:15 p.m. on Sunday, February 8, 2015 in the sanctuary of the Fourth Presbyterian Church. Rev. Kershner opened the meeting with prayer.

Report of the Clerk of Session

Sam Evans, Clerk of Session, determined that a quorum was present. Mr. Evans remarked on the transition over the past year and thanked Rev. Kershner for her leadership.

Mr. Evans announced that the minutes of the 144th Annual Meeting of the Congregation, held on February 9, 2014, were available for review on the website or by calling the Pastor's Office. A motion was made, seconded and **adopted** to approve the minutes of the 144th Annual Congregational Meeting of the Fourth Presbyterian Church of Chicago.

The Moderator called on Elder Elaine Filus, Chair of the Nominating Committee, to present the committee's report.

Nominating Committee Report

Ms. Filus summarized the committee's process and thanked members for their service. On behalf of the Committee, she then moved the following candidates for election as <u>Elders</u>:

Class of 2018

Blake Anderson Emily Jurgens
Lola Coke Corey McPherrin
Michael DeVries Don Nelson
Arlene Faulk Cris Ohr
Leisel Garner (Youth – 1 year term) Bill Patterson
Chris Horsman Betsy Zeiger

Bobbie Huskey

The Moderator asked for nominations from the floor. There being none, the motion to close the nominations and elect the candidates as Elders was **adopted**.

Ms. Filus moved the election of the following candidates to the Board of Deacons:

<u>Class of 2018</u>

Kristina Bonesteel Henry Moore (Youth – 1 year term)

David DouglasAlison NaishKristin EllertsonChris SagathLinda GibboneyTim SchellhardtJennifer GordonPatrick SpenceRandal HuizengaBetsy StormJulie JamesMark WarnerJared LightSarah Younger

Allison Maxwell Nadia Yonan (Youth – 1 year term)

The Moderator asked for nominations from the floor. There being none, the motion to close the nominations and elect the candidates as members of the Board of Deacons was **adopted**.

Ms. Nilsson moved the election of the following candidates to represent the congregation as members-at-large of the <u>2015 Nominating Committee</u>:

Brett Cochrane Ann Murray Rick Sabol

Liz Kurman Ellen Schaller Kathryn McCabe Lyman Welch

The Moderator asked for nominations from the floor. There being none, the motion to close the nominations and elect the candidates as members-at-large of the 2015 Nominating Committee was **adopted**.

The Moderator welcomed all candidates elected to their offices for the coming term and thanked Ms. Filus, the members of the Nominating Committee for their work.

Recognition of the Chicago Lights Board

The Moderator called on Stacy Jackson, Executive Director of Chicago Lights, who reviewed the various programs and the success stories over the past year. Ms. Jackson thanked the members of the Board whose terms will expire, stating that their productive work contributed greatly to the success of the Chicago Lights initiatives in the past year:

Gary Beckman Rick Sabol
Hope Daniels John Shonkwiler
Jon Findley Barton Tretheway

The Moderator asked for a motion to recess the Meeting of the Congregation to convene a meeting of the Corporation. A motion was made, seconded, and **approved** to do so.

Report of the Worship, Music and the Arts Committee

John Sherer and members of the Worship, Music and the Arts Committee reviewed the current and upcoming construction and installation of the sanctuary organ, which will be playing in time for Christmas 2015. All funds have been raised for the organ with thanks in regard to a matching fund from the William Morris Charitable Trust, Ed and Edie Andrew and many contributors to the organ fund. When completed, the organ will be the largest organ in Chicago and the Midwest. The construction progress can be watched on several venues of social media. Thanks were given to the Organ Task Force, started in 2006, which has now evolved into an Organ Steering Committee.

Meeting of the Corporation

Mark Nelson, President the Board of Trustees, convened the meeting of the Corporation. A motion to approve the minutes of the annual meeting of the corporation held on February 9, 2014 was made, seconded, and **approved**. Church Treasurer Marilee Hopkins reviewed the 2014 financial report and the Capital Projects Financial Summary, which were distributed to the congregation. Ms. Hopkins thanked Marty Sherrod, Shannon Kershner and David Yambor for their stewardship of church finances and extended appreciation to all who support Fourth Presbyterian Church and Chicago Lights.

Ms. Filus was invited to report on behalf of the Nominating Committee and placed in nomination the following persons for the <u>Board of Trustees</u>:

Class of 2018

Christine Albright Maggie Lewis
Lloyd Culbertson Ed Miller
Rebecca Dixon David Watkins
Amy Gulinson

Mr. Nelson asked for nominations from the floor. There being none, a motion to close the nominations and elect the present slate was **approved**.

Mr. Nelson asked for a motion to adjourn the meeting of the Corporation and reconvene the meeting of the Congregation. A motion was made, seconded, and **approved** to do so. The meeting of the Corporation was adjourned.

The Moderator reconvened the meeting of the Congregation of Fourth Presbyterian Church, and called on Elder Marc Miller for a report from the Personnel Committee.

Report of the Personnel Committee

Elder Marc Miller, Chair of the Personnel Committee, discussed the work of the Personnel Committee over the past year and noted staff transitions and anniversaries. Mr. Miller expressed his gratitude to Shannon Kershner for her

strong leadership and engagement with leaders and members of the church as well as her witness of faith. Special thanks were given to the House Staff, who received a standing ovation from the congregation.

Mr. Miller announced that the Reverend John Vest has accepted a new call to a four year appointment as Visiting Assistant Professor of Evangelism at Union Presbyterian Seminary and his last Sunday will be June 7, 2015. The Personnel Committee will recommend to Session that we begin a search for a new Associate Pastor of Youth Ministries and elect an Associate Pastor Nominating Committee.

There being no further business, a motion was made, seconded and **adopted** to adjourn the meeting, which was closed at 1:15 p.m. with the singing of "God of Grace and God of Glory" and with prayer by Rev. Kershner.

Respectfully submitted,

Sam Evans, Clerk of Session

Shannon Kershner, Moderator

Shamar J. Kershner