Sermons

In keeping with Presbyterian tradition, the hearing of God’s word in Scripture and preaching is central to each Sunday service of worship at Fourth Church.

For those who were unable to be with us—and for those who want to reflect further on a sermon or save it—you will find sermons available in a variety of formats.

Online text of the most recent sermons, which we also share via Facebook and Twitter as well, can be found below. There is also an archive of the text of earlier sermons.

Sermons are emailed to those who have signed up to receive Fourth Church sermon emails.

Printed transcripts (in booklet form) of the sermons are available on-site only, in the church literature racks, which are located in the Narthex and in the Commons, across from the Reception desk.

Audio—in MP3 format—for the Sunday morning sermon (and entire worship service) is also available below and via podcast.

For a pdf of the Sunday worship bulletin, click on the service time at right.

Sunday, November 13, 2022

Sermon

Nanette Sawyer

10:00 a.m.

 

Sunday, November 6, 2022

Sermon

Lucy Forster-Smith

4:00 p.m.

 

Sunday, October 30, 2022

Sermon

Shannon Kershner

10:00 a.m.

 

Sunday, October 23, 2022

Sermon

Shannon Kershner

10:00 a.m.

 

Sunday, October 16, 2022

Sermon

Matt Helms

10:00 a.m.

Sermon

Rocky Supinger

4:00 p.m.

 

Sunday, October 9, 2022

Sermon

Shannon Kershner

10:00 a.m.

 

Sunday, October 2, 2022

Sermon

Shannon Kershner

10:00 a.m.

Sermon

Rocky Supinger

4:00 p.m.

 

Sunday, September 25, 2022

Sermon

Shannon Kershner

10:00 a.m.

Sermon MP3  
Service MP3    

Sermon

Nanette Sawyer

4:00 p.m.

 

Sunday, September 18, 2022

Sermon

Matt Helms

10:00 a.m.

Sermon MP3  
Service MP3    

Sunday, September 11, 2022

Lost

Shannon J. Kershner

10:00 a.m.

Sermon MP3  
Service MP3    


Sunday, September 4, 2022

The Challenge and Cost

Shannon J. Kershner

10:00 a.m.

Sermon MP3  
Service MP3    

 

Sunday, August 28, 2022

Church as Project, not Product, Part 2

Shannon J. Kershner

10:00 a.m.

Sermon MP3  
Service MP3    


Sunday, August 21, 2022

Church as Project, not Product

Shannon J. Kershner

10:00 a.m.
4:00 p.m.

Sermon MP3  
Service MP3    

Sunday, August 14, 2022

“What More Shall I Say?”

Lucy Forster-Smith

10:00 a.m.
4:00 p.m.

Sermon MP3  
Service MP3    



Sunday, August 7, 2022

(Sermon text
to come)

Nancy Benson-Nicol

10:00 a.m.
4:00 p.m.

Sermon MP3  
Service MP3    

Sunday, July 31, 2022

Rich toward God

Nanette Sawyer

10:00 a.m.
4:00 p.m.

Sermon MP3  
Service MP3    


Sunday, July 24, 2022

Who Matters?

Joseph L. Morrow

10:00 a.m.

Sermon MP3  
Service MP3    



Sunday, July 17, 2022

Sermon

Rocky Supinger

10:00 a.m.

Sermon MP3  
Service MP3    


Sunday, July 10, 2022

Sermon text
unavailable

Patrick Daymond

10:00 a.m.

Sermon MP3  
Service MP3    

Sermon

Nanette Sawyer

4:00 p.m.


Sunday, July 3, 2022

Sermon

Rocky Supinger

10:00 a.m.

Sermon MP3  
Service MP3    

Sunday, June 26, 2022

Sermon

Matt Helms

10:00 a.m.

Sermon MP3  
Service MP3    


Sunday, June 19, 2022

In Praise of Small Things

Joseph L. Morrow

10:00 a.m.

Sermon MP3  
Service MP3    

Sunday, June 12, 2022

Spirited

Lucy Forster-Smith

10:00 a.m.

Sermon MP3  
Service MP3    

Sunday, June 5, 2022

Sermon text
unavailable

Amantha Barbee

10:00 a.m.

Sermon MP3  
Service MP3    


For a text archive of previous sermons preached at Fourth Church, click here.

 

MP3 Download Information

MP3 Download
Right click the MP3 link and select “save target as...”


Podcasts

Click here to open the Fourth Church Podcast in iTunes
Or search “fourth church” in the iTunes podcast store. 

Click here to open the Fourth Church Podcast in Spotify
Or search “fourth church” in Spotify. 

Permission to Podcast the music in these services obtained from OneLicense.net.