Tickets are not required for concerts unless otherwise indicated.

For concerts requiring tickets, please contact the organizers listed below for those events, as Fourth Church does not sell concert tickets.

 

Complete Concert Schedule for

December
January | February
March | April
May
| June

Free Friday Noonday Concerts

Each Friday of the year at 12:10 p.m., free Friday Noonday Concerts take place at Fourth Presbyterian Churchin the Sanctuary or Buchanan Chapel from September through June and outdoors in the courtyard off Michigan Avenue, by the fountain, in July and August.

This Friday Noonday Concert Series is enabled by a generous gift in memory of Pamela L. McGaan, devoted wife and mother, lover of music, and longtime member of Fourth Presbyterian Church.

Evening Concerts

Weekday evening and Sunday afternoon concerts are also offered periodically throughout the year.

Music Notes

To receive the weekly “Music Notes” email about upcoming concerts at Fourth Church, send your email address to music@fourthchurch.org.

 

2018–2019 Concert Schedule

December 2018

Friday, December 21
John W. W. Sherer, organ
12:10 p.m. in the Sanctuary

Sunday, December 23
Christmas Cantata with the Morning Choir
9:30 and 11:00 a.m. worship in the Sanctuary
Featuring A Ceremony of Carols by Benjamin Britten

Friday December 28
Beena David, mezzo-soprano
12:10 p.m. in the Sanctuary

Monday, December 31
New Year's Eve Taizé Service
7:30 p.m. in Buchanan Chapel
Arrive early to walk the labyrinth in Anderson Hall and enjoy this time of quiet accompanied by the Fourth Church Taizé Instrumental Ensemble

January 2019

Friday, January 4
Colleen Matheu Johnson, flute
Janice Razaq, piano
12:10 p.m. in the Buchanan Chapel

Friday, January 11
The Chen Family, string quartet
12:10 p.m. in Buchanan Chapel

Tuesday, January 15
Chicago Ensemble (soprano, violin, cello, and piano)
7:30 p.m. in Buchanan Chapel
Tickets available at www.thechicagoensemble.org or at the door—

Friday, January 18
Rhonda Edgington, trumpet and organ
12:10 p.m. in the Sanctuary

Friday, January 25
John W. W. Sherer
12:10 p.m. in the Sanctuary

February 2019

Friday, February 1
Red Riding Hood Quartet, string quartet
12:10 p.m. in Buchanan Chapel

Friday, February 8
Richard Benedum, organ
12:10 p.m. in the Sanctuary

Saturday, February 9
Sophie Webber, cello
7:00 p.m. in Buchanan Chapel
Tickets available at www.sophiewebber.com or at the door—

Friday, February 15
Thom Gouwens, organ
12:10 p.m. in the Sanctuary

Friday, February 22
John W. W. Sherer, organ
12:10 p.m. in the Sanctuary

March 2019

Friday, March 1
Brittany Hebel, soprano
12:10 p.m. in the Sanctuary

Saturday, March 2
Bella Voce
7:30 p.m. in Buchanan Chapel
Tickets available at www.bellavoce.org

Friday, March 8
Jeff Brown, piano
12:10 p.m. in Buchanan Chapel

Tuesday, March 12
Chicago Ensemble (flute, oboe, clarinet, bassoon, and piano)
7:30 p.m. in Buchanan Chapel
Tickets available at www.thechicagoensemble.org or at the door—

Friday, March 15
Tres Belle trio, soprano trio
12:10 p.m. in Buchanan Chapel

Friday, March 22
Thomas Heidenreich, organ
12:10 p.m. in the Sanctuary

Friday, March 29
Jackson Borges, organ
12:10 p.m. in the Sanctuary

April 2019

Friday, April 5
Genevieve Thiers, soprano
Katherine Calcamuggio Donner, mezzo-soprano
12:10 p.m. in Buchanan Chapel

Friday, April 12
Robin Dinda, organ
12:10 p.m. in the Sanctuary

Thursday, April 18
Chancel Choir singing Crucifixus Pro Nobis by Kenneth Leighton
7:30 p.m. in the Sanctuary
Maundy Thursday communion service

Friday, April 19
No Noonday Concert on April 19 (Good Friday)

Friday, April 19
Good Friday Choral Service with the Morning Choir
7:30 p.m. in the Sanctuary
The Passion According to St. John by Johann Sebastian Bach

Friday, April 26
John W.W. Sherer, organ
12:10 p.m. in the Sanctuary

Friday, April 26
Lakeside Singers
7:30 p.m. in the Sanctuary
Tickets available at www.lakesidesingers.com

May 2019

Friday, May 3
Elizabeth Start, cello

Friday, May 3
Apollo Chorus
7:30 p.m. in the Sanctuary
Tickets available at www.apollochorus.org

Friday, May 10
Thom Gouwens, organ
12:10 p.m. in the Sanctuary

Friday, May 17
Laura Perkett, soprano and oboe
12:10 p.m. in Buchanan Chapel

Friday, May 17
Fourth Church Choral Society with Tower Brass
7:30 p.m. in the Sanctuary
Performing Gloria by John Rutter
as well as other works for choir, organ, and brass

Saturday, May 18
Bella Voce
7:30 p.m. in Buchanan Chapel
Tickets available at www.bellavoce.org

Friday, May 24
Heinrich Christensen, organ
12:10 p.m. in the Sanctuary

Friday, May 31
John W. W. Sherer
12:10 p.m. in the Sanctuary

Friday, May 31
Fourth Coast Ensemble
7:00 p.m. in Buchanan Chapel
Featuring animal-inspired songs by Schubert, Ravel, Tchaickovsky, and others
Tickets available at www.fourthcoastensemble.org

June 2019

Tuesday, June 4
Chicago Ensemble (Oboe, two violins, viola, cello, and piano)
7:30 p.m. in Buchanan Chapel
Tickets available at www.thechicagoensemble.org or at the door—

Friday, June 7
Jennifer Woodrum, clarinet
12:10 p.m. in Buchanan Chapel

Friday, June 14
Thom Gouwens, organ
12:10 p.m in the Sanctuary

Friday, June 21
Jena Gardner, horn
12:10 p.m in the Sanctuary

Friday, June 28
John W. W. Sherer, organ
12:10 p.m. in the Sanctuary


For more information about concerts at Fourth Presbyterian Church, contact Chris Norton, Music Coordinator (312.981.3595).