Each Friday of the year at 12:10 p.m., free Noonday concerts take place at Fourth Presbyterian Churchin the Sanctuary or Buchanan Chapel (except when otherwise noted) from September through June and outdoors in the courtyard off Michigan Avenue, by the fountain, in July and August.

The Friday Noonday Concert Series is enabled by a generous gift in memory of Pamela L. McGaan, devoted wife and mother, lover of music, and longtime member of Fourth Presbyterian Church.

Weekday evening and Sunday afternoon concerts are also offered periodically throughout the year.

Tickets are not required for concerts unless otherwise indicated.

To receive the weekly “Music Notes” email about upcoming concerts at Fourth Church, send your email address to music@fourthchurch.org.


Concerts 2016
November | December

Concerts 2017
January | February | March | April
May | June


Wednesday, November 30, 2016
Civic Orchestra of Chicago
   presents Bach's Brandenburg Concertos
7:00 p.m. in the Sanctuary
Free event; no tickets required

Back to top


Friday, December 2, 2016
Anne Slovin, soprano
Brian Locke, pianist
12:10 p.m. in Buchanan Chapel
Cosponsored by the Musicians Club of Women

Saturday, December 3, 2016
St. Charles Singers: Candlelight Carols
7:30 p.m. in the Sanctuary
Tickets available through St. Charles Singers

Tuesday, December 6 and Wednesday, December 7, 2016
A Chanticleer Christmas
7:30 p.m. in the Sanctuary
Tickets available through Chicago Symphony Orchestra

Friday, December 9, 2016
Christopher O’Hara, pianist
12:10 p.m. in the Sanctuary

Saturday, December 10, 2016
Chicago a cappella presents
   Holidays a cappella: Tales and Legends
8:00 p.m. in the Sanctuary
Tickets available through Chicago a cappella

Sunday, December 11, 2016
Festival of Advent Lessons and Music
6:30 p.m. in the Sanctuary

Friday, December 16, 2016
Robert Chen, violinist
Mio Nakamura, pianist
12:10 p.m. in Buchanan Chapel

Saturday, December 17, 2016
Christmas with Tower Brass
5:00 p.m. in the Sanctuary
A $20 donation will be received at the door.

Sunday, December 18, 2016
Christmas Cantata by Daniel Pinkham
During 9:30 and 11:00 a.m. worship

Sunday, December 18, 2016
Lakeside Singers
7:30 p.m. in the Sanctuary
Tickets available through Lakeside Singers

Friday, December 23, 2016
John W. W. Sherer, organist
(Organist and Director of Music at Fourth Church)
12:10 p.m. in the Sanctuary

Friday, December 30, 2016
Beena David, mezzo soprano
12:10 p.m. in the Sanctuary

Back to top


Friday, January 6, 2017
Leighann Daihl Ragusa, flutist
Anna Steinhoff, violist da gamba
David Walker, theorbist
12:10 p.m. in Buchanan Chapel
Cosponsored by the Musicians Club of Women

Tuesday, January 10, 2017
Chicago Ensemble
7:30 p.m. in Buchanan Chapel
Tickets available through Chicago Ensemble

Friday, January 13, 2017
Menghua Lin, pianist
12:10 p.m. in Buchanan Chapel

Friday, January 20, 2017
Kate Carter and Louis Chan, violin-piano duo
12:10 p.m. in Buchanan Chapel

Friday, January 27, 2017
John W. W. Sherer, organist
(Organist and Director of Music at Fourth Church)
12:10 p.m. in the Sanctuary

Back to top


Friday, February 3, 2017
Avanti Guitar Trio
12:10 p.m. in Buchanan Chapel
Cosponsored by the Musicians Club of Women

Friday, February 10, 2017
Thomas E. Gouwens, organist
(Associate Organist at Fourth Church)
12:10 p.m. in the Sanctuary

Friday, February 17, 2017
Indian Springs School
12:10 p.m. in the Sanctuary

Friday, February 24, 2017
John W. W. Sherer, organist
(Organist and Director of Music at Fourth Church)
12:10 p.m. in the Sanctuary

Back to top


Friday, March 3, 2017
Mio Nakamura, pianist
12:10 p.m. in Buchanan Chapel
Cosponsored by the Musicians Club of Women

Tuesday, March 7, 2017
Chicago Ensemble
7:30 p.m. in Buchanan Chapel
Tickets available through Chicago Ensemble

Friday, March 10, 2017
Elizabeth Lenti, organist
12:10 p.m. in the Sanctuary

Friday, March 17, 2017
Credo Ensemble
12:10 p.m. in Buchanan Chapel

Friday, March 24, 2017
Sarah van der Ploeg, soprano
12:10 p.m. in Buchanan Chapel

Friday, March 31, 2017
John W. W. Sherer, organist
(Organist and Director of Music at Fourth Church)
12:10 p.m. in the Sanctuary

Back to top


Tuesday, April 4, 2017
Chicago Ensemble
7:30 p.m. in Buchanan Chapel
Tickets available through Chicago Ensemble

Friday, April 7, 2017
Diana Schmück, pianist
Bonnie Campbell, clarinetist
12:10 p.m. in the Sanctuary
Cosponsored by the Musicians Club of Women

Friday, April 14, 2017
No concert on Good Friday

Friday, April 21, 2017
To be determined

Friday, April 28, 2017
John W. W. Sherer, organist
(Organist and Director of Music at Fourth Church)
12:10 p.m. in the Sanctuary

Back to top


Friday, May 5, 2017
Eugenia Jeong, pianist
12:10 p.m. in Buchanan Chapel
Cosponsored by the Musicians Club of Women

Friday, May 12, 2017
Thomas E. Gouwens, organist
(Associate Organist at Fourth Church)
12:10 p.m. in the Sanctuary

Tuesday, May 16, 2017
Chicago Ensemble
7:30 p.m. in Buchanan Chapel
Tickets available through Chicago Ensemble

Friday, May 19, 2017
Keiko Alexander, violinist
12:10 p.m. in the Sanctuary

Friday, May 26, 2017
John W. W. Sherer, organist
(Organist and Director of Music at Fourth Church)
12:10 p.m. in the Sanctuary

Back to top


Friday, June 2, 2017
Patrice Michaels, soprano
Elizabeth Bucchieri, pianist
12:10 p.m. in Buchanan Chapel
Cosponsored by the Musicians Club of Women

Friday, June 9, 2017
Thomas E. Gouwens, organist
(Associate Organist at Fourth Church)
12:10 p.m. in the Sanctuary

Friday, June 16, 2017
St. Giles’ Cathedral Choir
12:10 p.m. in the Sanctuary

Friday, June 23, 2017
L and M Duo
12:10 p.m. in the Sanctuary

Friday, June 30, 2017
John W. W. Sherer, organist
(Organist and Director of Music at Fourth Church)
12:10 p.m. in the Sanctuary


For more information about concerts at Fourth Presbyterian Church, contact Chris Norton, Music Coordinator (312.981.3595).