Each Friday of the year at 12:10 p.m., free Noonday concerts take place at Fourth Presbyterian Churchin the Sanctuary or Buchanan Chapel (except when otherwise noted) from September through June and outdoors in the courtyard off Michigan Avenue, by the fountain, in July and August.

Weekday evening and Sunday afternoon concerts are also offered periodically throughout the year.

Tickets are not required for concerts unless otherwise indicated.

To receive the weekly “Music Notes” email about upcoming concerts at Fourth Church, send your email address to music@fourthchurch.org.


Concerts 2014
Oct | Nov | Dec

Holiday Concerts 2014

Concerts 2015
Jan | Feb | Mar | Apr | May | Jun

Friday, October 24, 2014
12:10 p.m. in Buchanan Chapel
Hamline University A Cappella Choir

Thursday, October 30, 2014
7:30 p.m. in the Sanctuary
Fourth Church Choral Society
   and Chicago Chamber Orchestra
Featuring Schubert’s Mass in G Major
$20 donation collected at door

Friday, October 31, 2014
12:10 p.m. in the Sanctuary
John W. W. Sherer, organist
(Organist and Director of Music at Fourth Church)

Back to top


Sunday, November 2, 2014
6:30 p.m. in the Sanctuary
All Saints’ Requiem Service with Communion
Lux Aeterna by Morten Lauridsen
sung by the Morning Choir


Friday, November 7, 2014
12:10 p.m. in Buchanan Chapel
Megan Bell, soprano
Richard Bell, cellist
Pedro Yanez, pianist
Cosponsored by the Musicians Club of Women

Tuesday, November 11, 2014
7:30 p.m.
Chicago Ensemble
Tickets available through Chicago Ensemble
www.thechicagoensemble.org | 773.558.3448

Friday, November 14, 2014
12:10 p.m. in the Sanctuary
Roosevelt University Choirs

Friday, November 21, 2014
12:10 p.m. in the Sanctuary
John W. W. Sherer, organist
(Organist and Director of Music at Fourth Church)

Friday, November 28, 2014
12:10 p.m. in the Sanctuary
Mary-Christine Stingley, flutist

Back to top


Friday, December 5, 2014
12:10 p.m. in Buchanan Chapel
Kristina Nyberg, pianist
Cosponsored by the Musicians Club of Women

Friday, December 12, 2014
12:10 p.m. in Buchanan Chapel
Embellish Handbell Ensemble

Friday, December 19, 2014
12:10 p.m. in Buchanan Chapel
Ann Marie Boyle, vocalist
Stephen White, pianist

Friday, December 26, 2014
12:10 p.m. in the Sanctuary
John W. W. Sherer, organist
(Organist and Director of Music at Fourth Church)

Back to top


Holiday Concerts

The internationally renowned a cappella group Chanticleer and the Fouth Church brass ensemble Tower Brass both perform annual Christmas concerts in the Sanctuary, as do several other groups from across the city.

• “A Chanticleer Christmas”
   Tuesday, December 2, 2014
   Wednesday, December 3, 2014
   7:30 p.m. in the Sanctuary
   Tickets available through concert cosponsor Symphony Center Presents
   www.cso.org |
312.294.3000

• St. Charles Singers
   Friday, December 5, 2014
   7:30 p.m. in the Sanctuary
   Tickets available through the St. Charles Singers and at the door
   www.stcharlessingers.com|
630.513.5272

• Holiday Pops
   Chicago Chamber Orchestra
   Cabaret duo Beckie Menzie and Tom Michael

   Sunday, December 7
   3:00 p.m. in Buchanan Chapel
   Tickets available through Chicago Chamber Orchestra
   www.chicagochamberorch.org | 312.857.3094

• “Holidays a cappella
   Friday, December 12, 2014
   8:00 p.m. in the Sanctuary
   Tickets available through Chicago a cappella and at the door
   www.chicagoacappella.org |
773.281.7820

• Festival of Advent Lessons and Music
   Sunday, December 14, 2014
   6:30 p.m. in the Sanctuary
   A cookies-and-hot-cocoa reception hosted in Anderson Hall by
      Women@Fourth Connect follows

• Lakeside Singers
   Friday, December 19, 2014
   8:00 p.m. in the Sanctuary
   Tickets available through Lakeside Singers and at the door
   www.lakesidesingers.com


• Christmas with Tower Brass
   Saturday, December 20, 2014
   5:00 p.m. in the Sanctuary
   Suggested donation will be received at the door

• Christmas Cantata
   Sunday, December 21, 2014
   During 9:30 and 11:00 a.m. worship in the Sanctuary

Back to top


2015 Concerts

Friday, January 2, 2015
12:10 p.m. in Buchanan Chapel
Cate Hummel, flutist
Cosponsored by the Musicians Club of Women

Friday, January 9, 2015
12:10 p.m. in Buchanan Chapel
Jonas Benson, violist

Friday, January 16, 2015
12:10 p.m. in Buchanan Chapel
Sarah van der Ploeg, soprano

Friday, January 23, 2015
12:10 p.m. in Buchanan Chapel
Chicago Trio

Friday, January 30, 2015
12:10 p.m. in the Sanctuary
John W. W. Sherer, organist
(Organist and Director of Music at Fourth Church)

Back to top


Friday, February 6, 2015

12:10 p.m. in Buchanan Chapel
Jill Kaeding, cellist
Cosponsored by the Musicians Club of Women

Friday, February 13, 2015
12:10 p.m. in the Sanctuary
Thomas Gouwens, organist
(Associate Organist at Fourth Church)

Friday, February 20, 2015
12:10 p.m. in Buchanan Chapel
Cory Tiffin, clarinetist

Friday, February 27, 2015
12:10 p.m. in the Sanctuary
John W. W. Sherer, organist
(Organist and Director of Music at Fourth Church)

Back to top


Friday, March 6, 2015
12:10 p.m. in Buchanan Chapel
Sherry Kim, pianist
Cosponsored by the Musicians Club of Women

Friday, March 13, 2015
12:10 p.m. in Buchanan Chapel
Christine Mild, vocalist

Friday, March 20, 2015
12:10 p.m. in Buchanan Chapel
Orpheus Choir

Tuesday, March 24, 2015

7:30 p.m. in the Sanctuary
Choir of King’s College Concert
www.kings.cam.ac.uk

Friday, March 27, 2015
12:10 p.m. in the Sanctuary
John W. W. Sherer, organist
(Organist and Director of Music at Fourth Church)

Back to top


Friday, April 3, 2015
Good Friday: No Noonday Concert

Friday, April 10, 2015
12:10 p.m. in Buchanan Chapel
Jennifer Woodrum, clarinetist
Cosponsored by the Musicians Club of Women

Friday, April 17, 2015
12:10 p.m. in Buchanan Chapel
Joseph Kingma, pianist

Friday, April 24, 2015
12:10 p.m. in the Sanctuary
John W. W. Sherer, organist
(Organist and Director of Music at Fourth Church)

Friday, April 24, 2015

7:00 p.m. in the Sanctuary
Lakeside Singers Concert
Tickets available through Lakeside Singers
www.lakesidesingers.com

Back to top


Friday, May 1, 2015
12:10 p.m. in Buchanan Chapel
Lyrebird Ensemble
   Ellen Huntington, flutist
   Lillian Lau, harpist

Cosponsored by the Musicians Club of Women

Friday, May 8, 2015
12:10 p.m. in the Sanctuary
Thomas Gouwens, organist
(Associate Organist at Fourth Church)

Friday, May 15, 2015
12:10 p.m. in Buchanan Chapel
Nancy Stelmann, cellist
Helen Lukan, pianist

Friday, May 22, 2015
12:10 p.m. in Buchanan Chapel
Kara Bershad, horn/harp duo

Friday, May 29, 2015
12:10 p.m. in the Sanctuary
John W. W. Sherer, organist
(Organist and Director of Music at Fourth Church)

Back to top


Friday, June 5, 2015

12:10 p.m. in Buchanan Chapel
Joelle Lamarre, soprano
Cosponsored by the Musicians Club of Women

Friday, June 12, 2015
12:10 p.m. in the Sanctuary
Thomas Gouwens, organist
(Associate Organist at Fourth Church)

Friday, June 19, 2015
12:10 p.m. in Buchanan Chapel
Grant Park Music Festival

Friday, June 26, 2015
12:10 p.m. in the Sanctuary
John W. W. Sherer, organist
(Organist and Director of Music at Fourth Church)

Back to top


For more information about concerts at Fourth Presbyterian Church, contact Ryan Loeckel, Coordinator for Worship, Music, and Adult Education (312.640.2570).