Each Friday of the year at 12:10 p.m., free Noonday concerts take place at Fourth Presbyterian Churchin the Sanctuary or Buchanan Chapel (except when otherwise noted) from September through June and outdoors in the courtyard off Michigan Avenue, by the fountain, in July and August.

Weekday evening and Sunday afternoon concerts are also offered periodically throughout the year.

Tickets are not required for concerts unless otherwise indicated.

To receive the weekly “Music Notes” email about upcoming concerts at Fourth Church, send your email address to music@fourthchurch.org.


Concerts 2014:
Aug | Sep | Oct | Nov | Dec

Looking ahead to Christmas 2014
Looking ahead to 2015

Music by the Fountain

Free Friday Noonday concerts continue outdoors in the courtyard off Michigan Avenue, by the fountain, through August.

Friday, August 29, 2014
12:10 p.m. in the courtyard
Arlene Bardelle, vocalist

Back to top


In September, Noonday concerts return indoors to either Buchanan Chapel or the Sanctuary.

Friday, September 5, 2014
12:10 p.m. in Buchanan Chapel
Georgia and Louise Mangos, piano duo
Cosponsored by the Musicians Club of Women


Friday, September 12, 2014
12:10 p.m. in Buchanan Chapel
Marc Stingley, vocalist

Friday, September 12, 2014
7:00 p.m. in the Sanctuary
Lyric Opera: “A Wondrous Sound”
Tickets available at www.lyricopera.org

Friday, September 19, 2014
12:10 p.m. in Buchanan Chapel
Yana Reznik, pianist

Friday, September 26, 2014
12:10 p.m. in the Sanctuary
John W. W. Sherer, organist
(Organist and Director of Music at Fourth Church)

Back to top


Friday, October 3, 2014
12:10 p.m. in Buchanan Chapel
Sara Su Jones, violinist
Cosponsored by the Musicians Club of Women

Friday, October 10, 2014
12:10 p.m. in Buchanan Chapel
Euclid Quartet

Friday, October 17, 2014
12:10 p.m. in the Sanctuary
Thomas Gouwens, organist
(Associate Organist at Fourth Church)

Friday, October 24, 2014
12:10 p.m. in Buchanan Chapel
Hamline University A Cappella Choir

Thursday, October 30, 2014
7:30 p.m. in the Sanctuary
Fourth Church Choral Society
   and Chicago Chamber Orchestra
Featuring Schubert’s Mass in G Major
$20 donation collected at door

Friday, October 31, 2014
12:10 p.m. in the Sanctuary
John W. W. Sherer, organist
(Organist and Director of Music at Fourth Church)

Back to top


Friday, November 7, 2014
12:10 p.m. in Buchanan Chapel
Megan Bell, soprano
Cosponsored by the Musicians Club of Women

Friday, November 14, 2014
12:10 p.m. in the Sanctuary
Roosevelt University Choirs

Friday, November 21, 2014
12:10 p.m. in the Sanctuary
John W. W. Sherer, organist
(Organist and Director of Music at Fourth Church)

Friday, November 28, 2014
12:10 p.m. in the Sanctuary
Mary-Christine Stingley, flutist

Back to top


Friday, December 5, 2014
12:10 p.m. in Buchanan Chapel
Kristina Nyberg, pianist
Cosponsored by the Musicians Club of Women

Friday, December 12, 2014
12:10 p.m. in the Sanctuary
Thomas Gouwens, organist
(Associate Organist at Fourth Church)

Friday, December 19, 2014
12:10 p.m. in Buchanan Chapel
Ann Marie Boyle, vocalist
Stephen White, pianist

Friday, December 26, 2014
12:10 p.m. in the Sanctuary
John W. W. Sherer, organist
(Organist and Director of Music at Fourth Church)

Back to top


Holiday Concerts

The internationally renowned a cappella group Chanticleer and the Fouth Church brass ensemble Tower Brass both perform annual Christmas concerts in the Sanctuary, as do several other groups from across the city.

• “A Chanticleer Christmas”
   Tuesday, December 2, 2014
   Wednesday, December 3, 2014
   7:30 p.m. in the Sanctuary
   Tickets available through concert cosponsor Symphony Center Presents only:
   www.cso.org |
312.294.3000

• St. Charles Singers
   Friday, December 5, 2014
   7:30 p.m. in the Sanctuary
   Tickets available through the St. Charles Singers and at the door
   www.stcharlessingers.com|
630.513.5272

• “Holidays a cappella
   Friday, December 12, 2014
   8:00 p.m. in the Sanctuary
   Tickets available through Chicago a cappella and at the door
   www.chicagoacappella.org |
773.281.7820

• Festival of Advent Lessons and Music
   Sunday, December 14, 2014
   6:30 p.m. in the Sanctuary
   A cookies-and-hot-cocoa reception hosted in Anderson Hall by
   Women@Fourth Connect follows

• Lakeside Singers
   Friday, December 19, 2014
   8:00 p.m. in the Sanctuary
   Tickets available through Lakeside Singers and at the door
   www.lakesidesingers.com


• Christmas with Tower Brass
   Saturday, December 20, 2014
   5:00 p.m. in the Sanctuary
   Suggested donation will be received at the door

• Christmas Cantata
   Sunday, December 21, 2014
   During 9:30 and 11:00 a.m. worship in the Sanctuary

Back to top


2015 Concerts

Tuesday, March 24, 2015
7:30 p.m. in the Sanctuary
Choir of King’s College Concert

Friday, April 24, 2015
7:00 p.m. in the Sanctuary
Lakeside Singers Concert

Back to top


For more information about concerts at Fourth Presbyterian Church, contact Ryan Loeckel, Coordinator for Worship, Music, and Adult Education (312.640.2570).